Buongiorno!

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog. I’m a first time blogger, so please feel free to inform me of any blogging etiquette that I may not be aware of. This blog is intended to be about me – it’s as simple as that. I plan on blogging as often as I like about whatever goes on in my life. My intention is to use this as an outlet, (journal if you will) to express my daily thoughts, ideas and feelings with hopes to gain some constructive feedback.

As mentioned on my “About” page, I’m from the Fraser Valley in British Columbia, Canada. My fiancé and I are about to have our first baby, due in January 2013. I decided to begin a blog after reading (only two-thirds) of Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project”, after watching the film “Eat, Pray, Love” (three times) based on the book written by Elizabeth Gilbert, and after I started practicing yoga.

Today is the last day of August and interestingly enough when I read “The Happiness Project” I was only able to read January through August before I had to return the book to the library. So, I have no idea what Gretchen’s advice was for September through December, but I’ve always thought of September as a new beginning and so appropriate for my blogging journey. Having only read two-thirds of that book, obviously that was enough to inspire me to work towards my own Happiness Project (like so many others I’m sure).

In addition to reading, I began taking yoga classes recently. I have attempted this in the past, but never felt “right” in the environment.  I think what I’ve learned in comparison from then to now is that the instructor makes all the difference. I always attributed my dissatisfaction to the practice of yoga itself. However, this time around I’ve encountered a wonderful teacher who has the voice of an angel and can describe the ins and outs of what we should be doing from the beginning meditation phase, through each pose, right to the shavasana or corpse pose at the end. I feel like I’m practicing yoga for the right reasons this time, whereas before it was probably because it was the in thing to do.

I hope that in the process of blogging I meet likeminded people who can share their wisdom with me. It’s funny, when I was younger I was always referred to as mature for my age. This probably had to do with the fact that I was raised by my father alone who was bipolar and I grew up with my brother who was almost 8 years older than me. Very independent, intelligent and strong willed, but probably ended up being more the parent than the child. If I knew then what I know now…. ahh I digress. Now, decades later, I feel so immature, like I missed some important information along the way that everyone else around has been privy to.

So therefore, here I am attempting to move forward and learn from my past. I want to spend time on things I enjoy rather than constantly worrying about things. I want to find peace – I need to find peace. Please join me on my journey to enlightenment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buongiorno!

  1. red1263 says:

    To help you find your peace of mind, I’ve recently discovered this quote, “We’re grown-ups now, and it’s our turn to decide what that means.” – XKCD. Hope this helps

  2. 16sedici16 says:

    Ya, I like this 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

