Baby Gear – Where to start?!?

Ok I’m panicing! I am 31 weeks pregnant and we haven’t bought a thing. We are not having a baby shower and we are waiting to find out if it’s a boy or a girl. I’m scared and so lost! I have no idea where to start!

The Graco SNUGRIDE® CLICK CONNECT 40 car seat is getting rave reviews, but I’m in Canada. I don’t think I can get it here. The Graco Snugride 35 is available however and the Graco travel systems seem great, but I heard 3 wheeled strollers are better. I’ve also heard Phil & Ted’s strollers or Bob strollers are the best brand, but there are too many reviews to sift through. I don’t want to buy anything more than I need, but marketers are very good at making first timers feel like they need everything!

Please, I’m tearing up just thinking about it all. I know its hormones, but OMG, I’m in panic mode. Please share your advice.

If you could do it over again, what are some things you wish you had known as a first time mom or parent?

What are things you can wait until the baby arrives to buy?

Looking forward to hearing from all of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Baby Gear – Where to start?!?

  1. It is true you need so much less than others make you think you do — diapers, onesies, sleepers, a crib with baby-safe bedding, a car seat, etc. the basics you need right away. Don’t hesitate to ask for help from the nurses at the hospital or other resources once baby arrives — while much is instinctual, I welcomed advice and ideas (even if only to discard them later) from a variety of sources. Every baby has different temperaments, personalities, so one mom’s/expert’s advice may work for one babe but not another. If your local hospital or clinic has a little seminar or birthing prep class for first-time parents, the info they provide can be helpful with getting ready for baby, too, and you may find other parents/expecting moms there sharing info and having the same questions you do. You will be fine, stay happy and healthy. 🙂

  2. Tara says:

    Hi, I felt the same way before Jetabout Boy was born. The only real essentials we bought were a stroller – ours is a 3 wheeler Mountain Buggy brand which has been awesome. A car seat, German brand Cybex is great and really simple unlike most models we tried, we have 6 degrees between my husband and I and still couldn’t figure out how to fit most of the car seats! We also got a little baby bed called a Babyhood Cozy Crib which sat on chairs beside our bed, and a Ergo brand baby backpack (frontpack). Good luck and enjoy! (and thanks for stopping by my blog).

  3. stuffandkids says:

    Hi! How are you? Hope baby is giving mommy time to sleep. Being a first time mom is overwhelming indeed but eventually instinct will you what will work and what will not. It is a bit of trial and error. i have a graco and a phil and teds stroller. both are working great. If you have plans of adding to your family a year or two later I recommend getting the phil and teds. Perfect for a baby and a toddler.

  4. pegges says:

    I’m gonna be a first time mom too and here too, I relate to your post a lot. I have been super overwhelmed too and we won’t be having a baby shower either. We do know though, what we’ll be having, but that just doesn’t make it much easier in terms of knowing what you really need and what not. I think it’s just a thing of deciding for yourself. Maybe my blog post about this exact topic can help you a little bit >> http://myfamilybliss.com/2012/12/10/262/ << … we pretty much think that we're having everything we need for this little baby to start having a comfy life here, but when friends and family ask if there is anything else we need, we just tell them that all we need are diapers, as we will be using them A LOT. 🙂 bump greetings.

Leave a Reply

